Skip to main content

Introduction to Essential Lawyering Skills Research Guide: UCH Library Databases

Guide provides information about library resources and research tips for students in the Introduction to Essential Lawyering Skills.

Databases at UC Hastings

The UC Hastings library offers free access to students to numerous legal and multi-disciplinary databases. These databases offer access to treatises and practice guides, journals, primary sources, and much more. Below is a list of some recommended databases.

The full list of databases can be found on our Online databases page.

Legal Databases

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

If you're researching an interdisciplinary topic, check our databases of non-law academic journals for articles related to your topic. If the full text of the article is not available, you can request it through interlibrary loan.

Article Databases

Finding a journal article discussing the area of law about which you plan to write is a great way to start your research or to solidify an important point in your paper. While Westlaw, HeinOnline, and Lexis Advance allow full-text searches of their law review databases, it's often helpful to search an index first to tailor your search to articles specifically on your topic. LegalTrac and the Index to Legal Periodicals and Books are great for this purpose.

What to Do After Finding An Article In An Index Or Bibliography
 If you have found an article in an index or mentioned in a bibliography, and would like to know where you can access a full-text version, start with the Law Library's E-Journal Finder. You can also search for the article or journal title in the library catalog, which will indicate whether the article is available in our print collection or in any of our online databases.