Skip to main content

Federal Administrative Law Research Guide: Regulations (FR & CFR)

Resources for researching federal Administrative Law.

Introduction

Current Federal Regulations

Current Federal regulations are published in the Code of Federal Regulations , the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government. It is divided into 50 titles that represent broad areas subject to Federal regulations.

Updating Federal Regulations

The Federal Register is the Daily Journal of the United States government. It compiles notices, proposed rules, final rules, presidential documents and other administrative materials published by Federal agencies.

Proposed Regulations

Regulations.gov contains comments on proposed regulations and related documents published by the U.S. Federal government.

Finding Regulations

Finding Regulations
Regulation citations include a title number, publication name, and section.

Examples:

                                     Title 9, Code of Federal Regulations, section 17.148
                                     3 C.F.R. 17.148 

If you have a citation to a regulation, it is easy to find the appropriate title and locate the section. Regulatory materials are compiled in the Code of Federal Regulations. The CFR is divided into 50 titles, which are subdivided into divisions, parts, and sections.

The current CFR may be found in print in the library, and online at e-CFR. This searchable database is updated regularly, and includes advanced search functions and search tips.  On the Federal Register website you will also find a Federal Regulatory Agency List, which includes agency information and links to agency websites. 

The CFR is also available on Lexis, Westlaw, and HeinOnline.These are all searchable in full text.

Databases

HeinOnline Federal Register Library
 Includes:
 Federal Register Vols. 1-79 (1936-2014) (updated daily)
 Federal Register Indexes to Vols. 1-78 (1936-2013)
 Code of Federal Regulations (1938-2013)
 Code of Federal Regulations - List of Sections Affected (1958 - 2013)
 Code of Federal Regulations - Compilation of Sections Affected (1949-2000)

Lexis Advance
Log into Lexis and click "Browse Sources" on the top right-hand corner above the search box.Search using the keywords administrative regulations, Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations

Westlaw  
Log into Westlaw and search the database using the keywords administrative regulations, Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations (the system will suggest sources automatically).

Websites

The FR and CFR are also available on the following:

Federal Register
Westlaw (1936- )
Bloomberg Law (1937- )
ProQuest Central (1980- )
Federalregister.gov (1994- )
FDsys (Federal Digital System) (1994- )

Federal Register Index
HeinOnline
LLMC Digital

Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)
FDsys (1996- )
Proquest (1981- )
Bloomberg Law (current)
HathiTrust (2003-2006)
e-CFR (current)
Westlaw (1984- )
Hein (1936- )