Skip to main content

Advanced Employment Law Seminar: Home

This research guide identifies resources of use to students enrolled in the Advanced Employment Law seminar.

Introduction

The tabs above link to lists of research tools relevant to the particular paper topic. Visit http://libguides.uchastings.edu/az.php for a complete list of the library's online databases.

General Advice

Social Science Research:

  • Use Academic Search Complete, Proquest, and Google Scholar to search for relevant articles.
  • Pay attention to the terminology used in those articles and modify your search terms accordingly.
  • Expand your research by paying attention to the references and footnotes - the sources cited by relevant articles.
  • If you find a relevant article, google its author.  Usually, s/he will have authored related papers.
  • If you find a relevant article, search for it on Google Scholar and click on the "Cited by..." link to find other relevant articles that have cited your article (the social science version of shepardizing). 

Public Policy Research:

  • Add site:.org to your Google searches to limit your results to NGO and think tank websites.  These are excellent sources for information about pending and enacted legislation concerning a particular issue. 
  • The Congressional Research Service (CRS), an arm of the Library of Congress, provides nonpartisan and in-depth research and policy reports to Congress.  
  • RAND Publications: Search the archive of over 17,000 RAND documents dating back to 1948.

Foreign & Comparative Law:

  • Start with a law review on Westlaw or Lexis or other academic journal article to identify foreign legislation.
  • To find the full text of the legislation, use Globalex or the Foreign Law Guide to identify online sources of primary law for the jurisdiction.
  • ILO's Working Conditions Laws Database summarizes legislation from countries around the world on minimum wage, working time, and maternal protection laws. 
  • Bloomberg BNA's Labor and Employment Practice Center includes international labor and employment law treatises and practice guides.

Case Law Research:

  • Start with a secondary source such as a law review article to identify a relevant case.  If your search in secondary sources returns too many results, try searching for terms in the title field.
  • Using that case, expand your research by reviewing 1) the cases it cites; 2) the cases, briefs, and secondary sources that cite it; 3) the terminology it uses to modify your full text searches of case law databases.
  • Use advanced search options, including connectors and expanders, when searching for cases.
  • Use current awareness tools such as Bloomberg BNA's law reports and Law360 to search for recent litigation and new legal developments.

Legislative Research:

Profile

Hilary Hardcastle's picture
Hilary Hardcastle
Contact:
(415) 565-4792