Skip to main content

Chinese Law Research Guide: Books & Articles

Resources for researching Chinese law.

Searching for Books

If you can find a few good books covering your topic, it can make your research much easier.
  • Hastings has a good collection of books on Chinese law.
  • You can also search the sources below and then borrow books through inter-library loan.
To find books at Hastings use the Hastings Catalog.  
  • Do a quick search to find books at Hastings and articles available to Hastings students.
  • Use the advanced search feature for more complex title, author and subject searching.

Hastings Catalog

  • You can find many of the books on the Chinese legal system in the Hastings Law Library by combing search terms such as:
    • China
    • Chinese
    • law
    • legal
    • legislation
  • The following subject searches may be helpful.  You can use the Advanced Search subject search to find books in the Hastings collection on subjects such as:
    • Antitrust law -- China
    • Business law -- China
    • Civil law -- China
    • Commercial law -- China
    • Commercial law -- China -- Hong Kong
    • Commercial law -- China -- Cases
    • Conflict of Laws -- China
    • Constitutional law -- China
    • Contracts -- China 
    • Dispute resolution (Law) -- China 
    • Finance -- China 
    • Justice, Administration of -- China -- History
    • Law -- China
    • Law -- China -- History
    • Law -- Moral and ethical aspects -- China
    • Law Reform -- China
    • Rule of law -- China
    • World Trade Organization -- China
    • Law -- China -- Periodicals
  • The following title searches locate various series of books on Chinese law:
    • Title is (exact) China Law Series
    • Title is (exact) Routledge contemporary China series
    • Title is (exact) China law series

Browsing for Books

Books at Hastings are organized by call number.  Most of the Chinese Law books are on the 5th floor in the KNN & KNQ call number range. 

If you find a book that looks interesting and you are not on campus, locate the book in our library catalog, then click on the book title, and then scroll to the bottom of the screen to virtually browse the titles nearby on the shelf.. Of course, if you are on campus, browsing the shelves is a great way to find relevant books.

browse books

Borrowing Books through Inter-Library Loan

For a wider selection of available books, search to see if other libraries have books you can borrow through Inter-Library Loan (ILL). If the book you want is not in the Hastings Library, or you would like to locate other books on your topic, use WorldCat, a database containing information about books from most of the libraries in the English-speaking world. Once you find a book, select "Request Item Through Interlibrary Loan" to borrow the book.

Google Books

Finding Articles

Locate the Journals Hastings Subscribes to in Print and Online:

  • Online Access - Search the e-journal finder by journal title.
  • Print Access - Search the library catalog by journal title.
  • Use the Advanced Search feature to find Chinese law journals at the Hastings library. - Search: Subject is (exact) Law China Periodicals 

Articles in Lexis, Westlaw, LSN & HeinOnline:

Sometimes law review articles can be one of the best places to find current research on your topic. Good sources for law journal articles include:

Although there is a lot of overlap on Lexis and Westlaw, you will find some articles unique to one database or the other. By searching both Lexis and Westlaw you will cover most of the law review articles written since the mid- 1990s. If you have a citation to an law review article that is not on Westlaw or Lexis (and is older than the last year or two), you will probably be able to print a PDF version of the article from HeinOnline . For working papers, unpublished research, and recently published articles the Legal Scholarship Network is a good resource.

HeinOnline includes full-text journals such as:

Legal Scholarship Network includes e-journals such as:

Other Chinese Law Journals:


Search Legal Periodical Indexes:

If you are having difficulty finding relevant articles, you can search the following periodical indexes. These searches are only for the title or abstract of the article, these are NOT FULL-TEXT searches.

Advantages to Index Searching:

  • Unlike Lexis and Westlaw full-text law review databases, legal periodical indexes allow you to search nearly all U.S. law review articles from 1918 to present. Therefore, one advantage to searching these indexes is that it allows you to search more journal articles.
  • Another advantage is that index searching can help you eliminate many irrelevant articles from your full-text search results. But after you find the citation, you then need to find the full-text.

Disadvantages to Index Searching:

  • After you find the citation, you still need to find the full-text.
  • Your search is limited to title and abstract.

Once you find a citation to an article, search for the full-text in the Hastings Law Library's e-journal finder. You can also search for the journal title in the Library Catalog, Lexis, Westlaw, or HeinOnline.


San Francisco Public Libray:

If an article you have found is not in one of the online resources at Hastings, you may want to search the online databases collection at the San Francisco Public Library. Any resident of California may apply for a SFPL Library card to get online full-text access.


Interlibrary Loan --- Articles
If you are unable to find the article you need using UC Hastings and SFPL resources, you can search for articles using WorldCat.

  • Search for the article by title, author or keyword
  • Limit search results to "Articles" using the filter boxes on the left
  • Click on the article title
  • Then click the blue "Request Item" button in the middle of the page.

Google Scholar:

You can search a large number of law and social science journals using Google Scholar . Oftentimes, you can get access to the full-text, but not always.