Skip to main content

Library Resources & Services During Temporary Campus Closures: Home

This guide lists library resources and services available to UC Hastings students, faculty, and staff during a campus closure.

Virtual Research Services

UC Hastings' reference librarians remain available during normal business hours to provide UC Hastings students and faculty with research and reference support. 

How to Reach Us:

The chat, email, and phone options listed on the Ask a Librarian webpage remain available during a campus closure. 

If you'd like to make an appointment to meet virtually with a reference librarian, complete the Reference Appointment form on the Ask a Librarian webpage and we'll arrange a meeting with you via Microsoft Teams.

Online Research Resources

Most of the law library's research resources are digital and remain available to you during a campus closure. 

Online Databases

You can find links to our dozens of research databases on the A-Z Databases page on the library website.

Study Aids

Students have access to hundreds of online study aids through the West Online Study Aids Library (Exam Pro, HIgh Court Summaries, Sum and Substance, Acing, and more), the Wolters Kluwer Online Study Aids Library (Examples & Explanations, Emanuel, Glannon, and more), and the LexisNexis Digital Library (Q&A, Mastering, Understanding, and more).

Students also have access to CALI lessons, a collection of over 1,000 interactive, computer-based lessons written by law faculty, covering more than 40 legal subject areas such as Evidence, Civil Procedure, Constitutional Law, and Contracts. Current students can get the Authorization Code to set up an account here: http://libraryweb.uchastings.edu/auth/cali2.html

E-Books

The library collection includes a large number of e-books.  You can find them by searching the library catalog and filtering the results to materials "Available Online."

If there is a particular book you need for your research, please email libref@uchastings.edu and we will endeavor to acquire the e-book.

Research Guides

The UC Hastings librarians have created dozens of research guides on a variety of topics, with links to online resources.

Online Casebooks

Many casebook publishers have made electronic editions of their casebooks temporarily available to UC Hastings students free of charge.

LexisNexis (Carolina Academic Press, Foundation Press)

LexisNexis, which also publishes Carolina Academic Press and Foundation Press casebooks, will be making its casebooks available in the LexisNexis Digital Library.  If you download the app to your phone, the law school code is UCHASTINGS.

West Academic

If your casebook is published by West Academic, (1) create a West Academic Account at https://eproducts.westacademic.com/; and then (2) call West Academic at 877.888.1330 (ext.4) or email  support@westacademic.com to set up your eBook.

Wolters Kluwer (Aspen, Carolina Academic Press)

Wolters Kluwer, which also publishes Aspen and Carolina Academic Press casebooks, will be making its casebooks available through VitalSource.  Students just have to create a VitalSource BookShelf account if they don't already have one and use their SCHOOL EMAIL ADDRESSES to login.  Once they create an account and log in they should see an "Explore" tab in the upper left corner of the screen. From there, they should be able to search for their casebook by title.

Frequently Asked Questions

I need help with my research and the library is closed.  What should I do?

Send an email  to libref@uchastings.edu or use the Chat box on the Ask a Librarian page. We’d also be happy to meet with you one-on-one via Microsoft Teams. 

What library resources can I access while the library is closed?

The Library’s numerous digital offerings, including e-books, study aids, newspaper and journal databases, and other online databases remain available to you 24/7 while the library is closed.  You can search for e-books in the library catalog and find the complete list of our online databases at http://libguides.uchastings.edu/az.php

Help!  I rely on the copy of the casebook on Course Reserves to complete my class readings.  What should I do?

Don’t worry!  Most casebook publishers have made their casebooks available to students as e-books.  LexisNexis, which also publishes Carolina Academic Press and Foundation Press casebooks, has made its casebooks available in the LexisNexis Digital Library (If you download the app to your phone, the law school code is UCHASTINGS). If your casebook is published by West Academic, (1) create a West Academic Account at https://eproducts.westacademic.com/; and then (2) call West Academic at 877.888.1330 (ext.4) or email  support@westacademic.com to set up your eBook.  Wolters Kluwer, which also publishes Aspen and Carolina Academic Press casebooks, has made its casebooks available through VitalSource.  You just have to create a VitalSource BookShelf account using your UC Hastings email address. After you create an account and log in, you should see an "Explore" tab in the upper left corner of the screen. Just search for your casebook by title.

What if I have UC Hastings books checked out that are due during the closure? Will I accrue late fees?

All materials due after March 8, 2020 are now due on August 31, 2020.  You will not incur any additional late fees during this period. 

What if I have Interlibrary Loan books in my possession?  What should I do with them?

Please keep your interlibrary loan books until the library reopens.  We will make sure the lending library is aware of our situation. Should it become inconvenient for you to return to campus, we will work with you to facilitate the return of the book.

Can I mail my books to the library or drop them off at the Security Desk?

No. Please hold on to your library books until the library reopens or we provide you with other instructions.

Can I submit Interlibrary Loan requests during this time?

We cannot process interlibrary loan requests for physical materials (books, DVDs, etc.) or e-books at this time.  You can, however, continue to request PDFs of articles through interlibrary loan.  To do so, just fill out the Article Request form in your ILLiad account.

What if I desperately need a specific book for my research?

Let us know!  Email us at libref@uchastings.edu and we will look into acquiring the book in e-book format for the collection. 

I have a question about my account. Is there anyone who can help me?

If you have any questions about your account or how to access digital resources, please email libref@uchastings.edu.  We will respond to inquiries as soon as possible.