Committee Prints / House and Senate Documents
Committee Prints are special studies in a specific subject area relating to proposed legislation requested by a Congressional Committee. Committee prints often provide valuable information such as statistical analyses or historical background research.
House and Senate Documents are a diverse group of non-congressional materials ordered printed by Congress. These documents may include annual or special reports to Congress, special studies or background information, and Senate treaty documents.
Committee Prints / House and Senate Documents Available Online
ProQuest Legislative Insight (access: restricted to UC Law SF students, faculty, and staff)
This database currently contains committee prints from 1970 to present; by the end of 2012, it will include materials from 1929.
ProQuest Congressional (access: restricted to UC Law SF students, faculty, and staff)
This database indexes committee prints from the 21st Congress (1830) to the most recent Congress, and provides full-text of committee prints from the 103rd Congress (1993) to the most recent Congress. The database includes abstracts and indexing for House and Senate Documents from 1970 to current, and indexing for House and Senate Documents from 1789 to 1969.
HeinOnline (access: restricted to UC Law SF students, faculty, and staff)
This database provides select committee prints from the 39th Congress (1865) to the present.
Lexis
Committee Prints file LEGIS;CMTPRN provides the full-text of selected committee prints from the 104th Congress (1995) to present. The House and Senate Documents file LEGIS:HSDOCS has the full text of documents from the 104th Congress (1995) to current.
govinfo
includes committee prints from the 94th Congress (1975) to present. Replaced FDsys in 2018.
Committee Prints/House and Senate Documents Available in Paper Format at UC Law SF Library
Selected committee prints from the 94th Congress (1975) to date are available in the 6th Floor Stacks - U.S. Hearings and Reports. Hearings are organized by:
- Congress (e.g., 108th Congress)
- Chamber (e.g., House)
- Committee (e.g., Committee on Resources)
- Title (e.g., "Compilation of Selected Laws Concerning National Forests"). The Committee prints for each congressional committee are organized alphabetically by title.
Searching Note: To find the congress, chamber, committee, and title of a particular committee print, you may need to use the CIS indexes listed above, or ProQuest Congressional, or the UC Law SF Library Catalog.
The most complete source of committee prints and House & Senate documents available in the Library is the CIS microfiche set. House Documents, Senate Documents, House, Senate, and Joint Conference Committee Prints are available on microfiche as part of this set. Committee prints from 1970 to current are in the Micrographics Room. To locate documents or committee prints in this set, you will need the CIS number from your research in the indexes.
Searching Hint: Google Book Search
If you've looked everywhere, and can't find a report, put the information into Google Book Search. Google Book Search is scanning some Congressional reports.