Skip to main content

International Law Research Guide: Lexis, Westlaw & Bloomberg

A research guide to help researchers locate and understand public and private international law resources.

. . .

Lexis - Research Basics

Lexis Advance: International & Comparative Law

Lexis Advance is not the strongest resource for international law research, but it does provide access to U.S. cases addressing international law issues, a lot of articles covering international and comparative law, and a number of good secondary sources.  To see the best international law sources on Lexis Advance:

- Select "Browse"
- Select "Sources"
- Select "By Practice Area"
- Select "International Law" to view sources such as:

  • Guide to International Legal Research
  • Handbook on International Commercial Arbitration
  • International Business Planning: Law and Taxation
  • International Court of Justice Advisory Opinions
  • International Court of Justice Filings
  • International Court of Justice Judgments
  • International Judicial Assistance
  • International Law Emerging Issues
  • International Law Update
  • International Legal Materials
  • International Trade Emerging Issues only
  • NAFTA Panel Review Decisions
  • Restatement of the Law 3d, Foreign Relations - Rule Sections
  • Smit & Herzog on the Law of the European Union
  • U.S. Naval War College International Law Studies Series
  • US Court of International Trade Cases
  • World Arbitration Reporter- 2nd Edition

Lexis.com: International & Foreign Law

To access additional Lexis resources you have to sign in to Lexis Advance and then connect to Lexis.com.  To connect to Lexis .com select the "Lexis Advance Research" pull-down menu in the top left corner of the screen. 

Once you connect to Lexis.com, you can add the "International Law" tab to view international law resources such as various case reports, treaty documents, law reviews & journals, and other secondary sources.

There are a limited number of secondary law sources for foreign law available on Lexis.com. They can be found by following the path shown below:

Legal > Find Laws by Country or Region > Foreign Laws & Legal Sources  (then select your country or region)

Additional resources available on Lexis.com include Doing Business in . . .  (guides to the laws of individual countries).

. . .

Westlaw - Research Basics

Westlaw: International & Comparative Law

Westlaw contains a limited number of resources covering international and comparative law.

Westlaw includes U.S. cases dealing with international law issues.

You will find alot of law reviews and journals focusing on international law.  You can locate articles about your topic by searching the "Secondary Sources" section.

The best resources with legal analysis of international and comparative law will be located by selecting the "International Materials" link and then "Treatises".  You will also find about 75 Multi-National Treatises.  These multi-national treatises may be your best resource available on Westlaw.  Each multi-national compilation includes analysis arranged by country.  Examples include:

In the "International Materials" section, you can also find a limited number of cases, administrative materials, legislation and journal articles.  Resources available here include:

Westlaw - Practice Oriented Resources:

The Practical Law resources on Westlaw offer a rich collection of up-to-date in-depth content including Practice Notes, Standard Documents and Clauses, Checklists, Toolkits, Legal Updates, Country-by-Country Legal Research Guidance, Country Comparison Tools, and Subject Specific Practice Resources.

There are several ways to locate international and comparative law resources using Practical Law:

. . .

Bloomberg Law / Bloomberg BNA - Research Basics

Bloomberg Law & Bloomberg BNA:

Bloomberg Law contains a limited amount of legal analysis of international legal issues mostly focusing on business law.  But the database does include excellent news and current awareness resources

Bloomberg Law provides access to the Bloomberg BNA International Trade Reporter:

  • News about International trade.
  • Reports on trade issues by country can be found by selecting the All Countries link in the sidebar
  • The weekly report service provides comprehensive, current information on developments affecting the trade and international business policies of the US and major US trading partners. It includes the latest news and trends in US trade policy, including regulatory, legislative, and judicial developments, activities of the International Trade Commission, World Trade Organization, and Departments of State, Treasury & Commerce.

Bloomberg Law also provides access to:

Subscribe to BNA news services - Hastings students who want to receive a free weekly email update with the contents (and links to articles) of The BNA International Trade Reporter should sign-up here, then click on " BNA publications."