LibGuides: Japanese Law Research Guide: Articles

Online Subscriptions Sources for Articles on Japanese Law

The UC Law SF Library subscribes to a number of online resources that may be useful in your research. More than 250 of our online resources are listed on the Library's A-Z Database webpage. You can access all of them on campus. Most of them also allow remote access to current UC Law SF faculty & students. If you are not on campus you will be directed to a UC Law SF login page (enter your UC Law SF email username and password).

Journal articles can be one of the best places to find current research on your topic. Find law reviews and other scholarly journal articles on HeinOnline, Proquest, Westlaw, Lexis, and The Legal Scholarship Network.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage of a wide array of multidisciplinary academic journals.
Cambridge Core This link opens in a new window
Click "Only Search Content I Have Access To" to access full text multidisciplinary academic journals published by Cambridge University Press. You can also search the full Cambridge Core site for 1000's of Cambridge publications, although only abstracts are available for most Cambridge books and journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Articles and e-books covering topics including Social Science, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Business, Economics, Criminology, Criminal Justice, and Law.
Law Journal Library (HeinOnline) This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 1,620 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most-currently published issues based on contracts. [Search Tip: Use advance search options for better results. For example, the search ..... "japan maternity leave"~25 ..... locates the words japan and maternity and leave within 25 words of each other.]
Lexis+ This link opens in a new window
To find law review articles on your topic: 1) Select "Secondary Materials" from the "Explore Content" section, then 2) Select "Law Reviews & Journals"
Oxford Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Searchable online access to the full range of journals published by Oxford University. Search in individual or mulitple titles, or by subject areas: Humanities, Law, Life Sciences, Mathematics and Physical Science, Medicine and Social Sciences. 1996- current.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
The largest aggregated full-text database of journal articles, magazines, newspapers and dissertations for information on a broad range of general reference subjects such as business, political science, art, literature and psychology. Search 24 databases at ProQuest central or choose a subject database.
Westlaw This link opens in a new window
To search law review articles: 1) Select "Secondary Sources", and then 2) Select "Law Reviews & Journals." Use the "Advanced" option for better search results with advanced search terms.

Online and Print Sources for Articles on Japanese Law

Free Online Japanese Journals - English Language

Social Science Japan, the English-language newsletter of the Institute of Social Science, University of Tokyo, provides concise information on key people, important issues, and developments in social science research on Japan from 1994 to 2019.
Kobe University Law Review - Selected English language articles are available for download.
The Asia-Pacific Journal: Japan Focus - In-depth critical analysis of the forces shaping the Asia-Pacific and the world. Focuses on geopolitics, economics, history, society, culture, and international relations. Peer reviewed journal.
Australian Network for Japanese Law (ANJL) - Research papers by members and associates of ANJL.

Japanese Law Journals at The UC Law SF Library (Print & Online)

To find the Japanese law journals currently available at our law library, go to the UC Law SF Library Catalog, select Advanced Search, search (Subject Contains) japan law, and filter by (Material Type) journals.
Journal of Japanese Law - abstracts and articles in English (Also see full-text in print.)
Ritsumeikan Law Review - Ritsumeikan University Law Association (Kyoto, Japan)

San Francisco Public Library Non-Law Journals

If an article you have found is not available in the print or online resources at UC Law SF, you might try the San Francisco Public Library (SFPL) catalog and online journal collection. Any resident of California may apply for a SFPL Library card to get online full-text access.

Retrieve Articles using Inter-Library Loan

If you are unable to find the article using UC Law SF and SFPL resources, you can request the article through Inter-Library Loan. The easiest way to request an article through inter-library loan is to search for the article title on WorldCat and then select "Request Item"

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a quick way to find scholarly articles. For full-text access click “settings”, click “Library Links” and then select UC Law SF and SFPL. “Save” your settings. [Note: You may need to find go to the Library's subscription databases or e-Journals pages to find the full-text of articles you locate on Google Scholar.]