Skip to main content

Japanese Law Research Guide: Research Guides & Legal Citation

Resources for researching Japanese legal issues and topics.

Japan Law Research Guides

Japanese Law Research Guide - Globalex Research Guide (Updated 2015) by Dr. Makoto Ibusuki & Keiko Okuhara, Includes background information about the basic structure of the Japanese Legal System, and explains how to find Japanese legislation, cases, and other government information.

The University of Washington (UW) law library has developed two extensive research guides for Japanese Law:

Foreign Law Guide: Japan - This guide includes extensive information about Japan's legal history, legislation, and judicial system.

World Legal Information Institute: Japan - A collection of links to most of the best websites for Japanese legal information.

Legal Research Guide: Japan - Overview of the Japanese Legal System by The Law Library of Congress

Japan Law Resource Page from Washburn Law School, includes: links to the Japan constitution, Japan government, Japan law firms, Japan law, Japan bar association, Japan dispute resolution, Japan legal research, Japan prime minister, Japan legislature, and Japan law guide.

Guide to Japan Information Resources - Maintained by Stanford University. Includes the following sections:

Asian Law Online - Melbourne Law School's Asian Law Centre maintains this searchable database with links to English language materials on Asian laws available throughout the world including books, chapters in books, journal articles and theses.

Waseda University Institute of Comparative Law - Japanese Law:

Japanese Law and Government Online Research Links (English and Japanese language) - Maintained by Tohoku University School of Law includes sections on: Legal Organizations, Law Journals, and Japanese Government

The Japan Considered Project - Provides links to English language information on Japan’s domestic politics and international relations. See also: English language interviews with leading figures in Japanese politics and international relations.

Links to Sources of Japanese Law - Columbia Law School

Japanese Legal Citation

Guide to Foreign and International Citation
- see pages 115-120 for Japan


Assistance with citation, see the University of Washington's research guides:

Washington University in St. Louis: