LibGuides: Intellectual Property Research Guide: Home

In-depth Secondary Sources

Intellectual Property Counseling and Litigation by Lester Horwitz; Ethan Horwitz (Eds.)
View full text on Lexis Advance (UC Law SF students, faculty, and staff only).
more...less...
This comprehensive practice guide to client counseling and dispute resolution is regularly updated to reflect the developing law. It describes the relationship between intellectual property law and other business law, international aspects of licensing and patent and trademark protection, and litigation procedure and strategy.
Milgrim on Licensing
View full text on Lexis Advance (UC Law SF students, faculty, and staff only).
more...less...
This treatise combines forms and practical guidance, covering licensing transactions in every substantive area of intellectual property.

Intellectual Property: Valuation, Exploitation, and Infringement Damages by Gordon V. Smith; Russell L. Parr
Publication Date: 2018
This guide explains how to attach a dollar value to myriad intellectual properties and intangible assets, including patents, trademarks, copyrights, trade secrets, favorable contracts, licenses, and joint venture decisions.
Intellectual Property and Technology Due Diligence by Lacy Kolo
Publication Date: 2018
Tailored toward IP attorneys, this volume guides the practitioner through the review of all aspects of intellectual property and technology, including assessing risks and benefits associated with the IP and determining their impacts on transactions and the businesses involved.
Intellectual Property in Consumer Electronics, Software and Technology Startups by Gerald B. Halt; John C. Donch; Amber R. Stiles; Fesnak Robert
Publication Date: 2013
Geared toward startups and high tech companies, this book guides practitioners through the process of procuring, utilizing, and monetizing IP rights. Learn what to consider during the creative phases of a product's lifespan, from initial research and development through post-production.

Online Collections

HeinOnline Intellectual Property Law Collection
This database focuses on United States copyright, trademark, and patent law resources. It includes the Official Gazette of the U.S. Patent Office, almost 700 books and 65 periodicals related to IP law, legislative histories, Title 37 of the Code of Federal Regulations, Titles 17 and 35 of the United States Code, patent and trademark administrative decisions, and more.
Kluwer IP Law
This is a comprehensive platform for researching intellectual property, including copyrights, patents, trademarks. Collection includes cases, legislation and treaties from over 200 countries, books, journals, and practice tools. Use an electronic edition of the "Brown Book," the manual for handling applications for patents, designs and trade marks throughout the world.
Lexis Practice Advisor: IP and Technology
Lexis maintains this collection of practice guides, treatises, news sources, law reviews, checklists, and forms for IP attorneys.
Westlaw Intellectual Property Practice Area Page
This page provides convenient access to all of Westlaw's intellectual property content, including cases, statutes, regulations, administrative decisions, secondary sources, briefs, and more.

Study Aids