Academic Success Resources for Students: Exams

Online Resources for Test-taking Strategy

Law School Exams: Preparing and Writing to Win by Charles R. Calleros

Master basic techniques and strategies for efficiently handling essay and multiple-choice questions. Sample questions and answers are provided throughout the text.

Eight Secrets of Top Exam Performance in Law School by Charles H. Whitebread

Turn time constraints into an advantage, learn strategies for issue spotting and essay organization, gain awareness of the possible pitfalls of the IRAC method, and try out these new skills with sample essay questions.

Mastering the Law School Exam by Suzanne Darrow-Kleinhaus

This e-book takes a practical and concrete approach to thinking like a lawyer and writing essay responses that reflect your ability to analyze legal problems.

Top 10 Tips for Successfully Writing a Law School Essay, a CALI lesson

In this eleven-minute online lesson, students learn to avoid the post common mistakes in law school essay exams.

Tips for Multiple Choice Exam Questions, a CALI podcast

in this eleven-minute discussion, a law professor breaks down the components of a multiple-choice question and teaches students how to analyze and answer them correctly.

Hastings Exams from Past Years

The best way to succeed on law school exams is to practice taking them.

UC Hastings professors provide their past exams (often with model answers) to the library, and the library maintains a searchable database of these exams. Most students use previous exams given by their professors to help them figure out how to prepare for exams. See how your professor writes questions, improve your ability to spot the issues, and target your preparation to your professor's style.

Go to the UC Hastings Exams Database to find exams that your professor has given in the past. You may need to enter your UC Hastings login ID and password.

First-year Exam Prep Courses

Kaplan 1L Exam Prep Course 

This free online course offers lectures, sample exam questions, and outlines for the traditional 1L curriculum.

BarBri

A free online preparation system including outlines, lectures, sample essay and multiple choice exam questions, and test-taking strategies for the first year curriculum: civil procedure, contracts, constitutional law, criminal law, real property, and torts.

Multiple-Choice Practice Questions by Subject

Multiple Subjects

Emanuel's Strategies & Tactics for the Multistate Bar Exam

This book provides advice and sample multiple-choice questions based on the Multistate Bar Exam, along with answers and explanations. Find sample questions on civil procedure, contracts, constitutional law, criminal law and procedure, evidence, real property, and torts. This is on reserve at the Circulation Desk in the library.

Strategies & Tactics for the MBE 2

This is an older version of Emanuel's Strategies & Tactics for the Multistate Bar Exam (above). It is also on reserve at the Circulation Desk in the library.

Civil Procedure

CALI Online Lessons on Civil Procedure

CALI lessons deliver interactive content followed by multiple-choice quizzes on the material, with immediate feedback on the answers that you provide.

Mastering Multiple Choice for Federal Civil Procedure MBE Bar Prep and 1L Exam Prep by William M. Janssen and Steven Baicker-McKee

This multiple-choice practice book comprises sample questions and answers with complete explanations.

Quick Review of California Civil Procedure by David I. Levine and Rochelle J. Shapell

This study aid, available online and in print, provides sample exam questions at the end, including sample exam questions at the end of each chapter, including multiple choice and essay questions.

Emanuel CruchTime for Civil Procedure

CruchTime combines capsule summaries and flow charts to lead you through your analysis with sample multiple-choice and essay questions to teach you how to select and write the best answers.

Glannon Guide to Civil Procedure: Learning Civil Procedure Through Mulitiple-Choice Questions and Analysis

Learn what you missed in class and practice for the exam with straightforward explanations and multiple-choice questions with answers and explanations for both correct and incorrect answers. Practice analyzing hypotheticals as a way to test your knowledge.

Torts

Exam Pro on Torts (Objective) by John H. Bauman and Ronald W. Eades

An e-book that comprises multiple-choice practice questions and answers with analysis.

Gilbert Law Summary on Torts by Marc A. Franklin, et al.

Gilbert outlines the law and provides a section of multiple-choice review questions at the end.

Steve Emanuel's Bootcamp for the MBE: Torts

Emanuel provides an abbreviated outline and 34 MBE-style torts questions with explanations of the correct and incorrect answers.

Emanuel Law Outlines for Torts

Available online or in print, Emanuel outlines the law and offers sample multiple choice and essay questions, as well as exam tips.

Emanuel CrunchTime: Torts

Available online or in print, Emanuel provides a capsule summary of the law, flowcharts for analysis, and exam tips along with plentiful sample multiple-choice and essay questions.

Glannon Guide to Torts: Learning Torts Through Multiple-Choice Questions and Analysis

Available online or in print, Glannon clarifies important concepts and teaches using multiple-choice questions, with explainations of both correct and incorrect answers. 

Friedman's Practice Series for Torts

Available online or in print, Friedman's prepares you for your exam with multiple-choice and essay questions, with model answers and explanations. It also provides tips on writing successful essays. 

Property

Glannon Guide to Property: Learning Property Through Multiple-Choice questions and Analysis

Solidify your knowledge of property while you practice your multiple choice skills. This e-book provides practice questions and answers, along with helpful and straightforward explanations and analysis.

Emanuel CrunchTime for Property

CruchTime combines capsule summaries and flow charts to lead you through your analysis with sample multiple-choice and essay questions to teach you how to select and write the best answers.

Exam Pro Objective Questions on Property

Take eight property exams comprising 200 objective final exam questions. Each exam comprises 25 objective problems, and each has a correlated answer key with detailed explanations of the correct answers.

Questions & Answers: Property

Refine your exam technique using practice questions and answers designed to help you apply your knowledge of the rules to hypothetical facts. Provides sample essay and objective questions along with model answers and explanations. This is a print resource, on reserve at the Circulation Desk in the library.