Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Law Library Mission
The UC Hastings Law Library supports the research and educational endeavors of the students and faculty of the University of California, Hastings College of the Law. The Library's holdings include an extensive collection of federal, international, and California materials. In addition to its print collection, the Library offers access to numerous online databases that support research in law as well as interdisciplinary studies.
Library Catalog Migration
Over a six-month period, the Law Library's Technical Services staff, led by Stephanie Schmitt, accomplished the herculean task of migrating our library records to a new library management and discovery solution. The new system, Ex Libris' Alma/Primo, replaces the catalog used for the past decade. As an open-source platform, Alma includes APIs and integration with third-party systems at little or now cost. Numerous academic libraries have already migrated to Ex Libris' platform. By the end of 2018, all 23 California State University Libraries will be using Ex Libris and other UC libraries, including UC Irvine and UC Davis, are also making the move.
Inaugural Book Talk
On March 22, the Law Library hosted its first book talk, featuring Professor Joel Paul discussing his new book Without Precedent: Chief Justice John Marshall and His Time. The event was well attended and we plan to host more during the upcoming academic year.
New Archive: The Papers of Judge Melvin T. Brunetti
In June, the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit made a gift the Papers of the Honorable Melvin T. Brunetti to the Law Library. Judge Brunetti, Class of '64, was appointed to the Ninth Circuit by President Reagan in 1985. He served on the court for 25 years, until his death in 2009. The papers include his case notes, draft opinions, and other documents from his years on the court.
New Databases & Electronic Collections
This year, the Law Library acquired twelve new databases and eBook collections:
- Burney Collection Newspapers: Newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media, containing approximately 1,270 titles.
- Cheetah: Online access to Wolters Kluwer treatises in a number of areas, including antitrust, banking, bankruptcy, IP, securities, tax, and transportation.
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service Reports, China 1974-1996: English translations of articles by the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) from original news sources. This segment from Readex covers news from China from 1974 to 1996.
- Gun Regulation and Legislation in America: This database brings together essential periodicals, compiled legislative histories, CRS reports, Congressional hearings, United States Supreme Court briefs, monographs, and other related materials on the difficult and controversial topic of regulating firearms in the United States.
- Investment Arbitration Reporter: A news and analysis service focusing on the international law that applies to foreign investment, particularly the international treaties and arbitration claims that arise in this context.
- Law in Eastern Europe: This series of more than 60 titles showcases the development, enactment, and impact of the rule of law in Eastern Europe.
- Proquest Congressional Hearings: 2004-2010
- Proquest Executive Orders and Presidential Proclamations (1789-present)
- Slavery in America and the World: This HeinOnline collection brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery.
- Statista: Online subscription portal with statistical data, business studies, analytics, and market research. It includes more than 1,500,000 statistical data entries from over 18,000 resources on more than 80,000 topics.
- U.S. Declassified Documents Online: This database provides access to a broad range of previously classified federal records spanning the twentieth and twenty first centuries.
- Westlaw Proview: Online access to dozen's of Westlaw's practice guides and treatises, including the Rutter Group Practice Guides.