Below is a sampling of websites that may be of interest to students in this class – these sites are maintained by academic and other types of institutions. Unless otherwise indicated, descriptions within quotation marks are pulled from the sites listed.
Brennan Center for Justice: “[A]n independent, nonpartisan law and policy organization [that] conducts rigorous research to identify problems and provide in-depth empirical findings and compelling analyses of pressing legal and policy issues.”\
Civil Rights Litigation Clearinghouse: “Collects and presents documents and information from large-scale civil rights cases across the United States.”
Cultural Survival: “Cultural Survival supports a movement of empowered Indigenous Peoples organizing their communities to engage the international processes, national policies and human rights bodies to respect, protect, and fulfill their rights.”
Harvard Project on American Indian Economic Development: “The Harvard Project is the recognized leader in practical research, teaching, leadership development, policy analysis, and pro bono advising for Native communities. Since 1987, the Project has worked to uncover and support the conditions under which sustained, self-determined political, social, cultural, and economic strengthening can be achieved by Indigenous communities.”
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (UCLA): “The Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) provides complete bibliographic citations to the contents of scholarly journals published around the world on Latin America and the Caribbean since the late 1960s. Our coverage includes everything from political, economic, and social issues to the arts and humanities.”
The Institute for Tribal Government (Hatfield School of Government, Portland State University): “The Institute for Tribal Government arranges and facilitates ongoing training, professional development, and consulting service programs for tribal and non-tribal organizations nationwide that: [p]otect and promote tribal trust and treaty rights; [a]dvance effective governance; [d]evelop tribal leaders; and [i]mprove the staff capacity of tribal governments and business enterprises, in order to improve the quality of life and economic opportunities for tribal people.”
National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP): (Per Wikipedia) “The National Association for the Advancement of Colored People is a civil rights organization in the United States, formed in 1909 as an interracial endeavor to advance justice for African Americans by a group including W. E. B. Du Bois, Mary White Ovington, Moorfield Storey and Ida B. Wells.”
National Indian Law Library: “[A]law library devoted to federal Indian and tribal law. NILL maintains a unique and valuable collection of Indian law resources and assists people with their Indian law-related research needs.”
National Urban League: “The National Urban League works to provide economic empowerment, educational opportunities and the guarantee of civil rights for the underserved in America.
National Women’s Law Center: Includes statistics and information on health care and reproductive rights, education & Title IX, LGBTQ equality, etc.
Native Nations Institute (Univ. of Arizona): “NNI provides Native nations and other policy makers with accessible research and policy analysis of governance and development in Indian Country and with comprehensive, professional training and development programs designed to meet the needs of Indigenous leadership and management.
Our Shared Future: Reckoning with Our Racial Past (Smithsonian Institution): “[E]xplores the history and legacy of race and racism in the United States and beyond. With this initiative, we seek to spark positive social change and build a more equitable future by bringing people together to talk, share, and learn from each other.”
Unidos US (previously known as National Council of La Raza): “Since 1968, we’ve served the Hispanic community through our research, policy analysis, and state and national advocacy efforts, as well as in our program work in communities nationwide and through our network of over 300 affiliates across the country.”
Urban Institute: “The Urban Institute is a nonprofit research organization that provides data and evidence to help advance upward mobility and equity.”