Asian Law Online - A website maintained by Melbourne Law School's Asian Law Centre with useful links to online PRC legal information and a bibliography of print resources.
China Law Research - (updated 2022) UCLA School of Law library research guide
China's Political System in Charts - (updated 2021) Congressional Research Service (CRS) Report on China’s leading political institutions and current leaders in sixteen organization charts with accompanying explanatory text.
Chinese Law and Legal Research (2005) - This book, published by Wei Luo of Washington University School of Law Library, is a comprehensive treatment of how to research Chinese law. It covers print and online resources and provides background on the legal system, court system and legislation.
Chinese Legal Research (2014) [RECOMMENDED] - By Paul Kossof, this book covers China's legal system, constitution, government, legislation, and treaties. It provides research guidance on finding laws, using secondary sources, and citations.
Finding Chinese Law on the Internet (updated 2021) [RECOMMENDED] - Globalex guide by Joan Liu and Anna Guo. Includes background information about the Chinese Legal System, Characteristics and Sources of Chinese law, a list of Major Chinese or Bilingual Online Sources, and a discussion about features of Online China Law Sources and Search Strategies
Foreign Law Guide: China - (updated 2019) This extensive online guide to foreign law is available through the UC Law SF library. Select the country at the bottom of the webpage. Includes useful information about China's legal history, legislation, and judicial system. [Note: To access this resource off-campus, you are required to authenticate that you are a UC Law SF student by entering your UC Law SF email username/password.]
Legal System of the People's Republic of China in a Nutshell - 2015 book by Daniel C. K. Chow. See Chapter 12: Reference Tools for Further Research.
Library of Congress: China Law Research Guide (updated 2021) - A basic guide to China Law, including links to China Courts and Government Agencies.
Library of Congress: Guide to Law Online - China (updated 2021) - Overview of the legal system, laws, and legal guides.
NPC Observer (Updated 2022) - A guide to The National People's Congress (NPC).
"One Country, Two Systems” of Legal Research: A Brief Guide to Finding the Law of China’s Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (updated 2018) - By Foreign and International Law Librarians, Sergio Stone & Roy L. Sturgeon
People's Republic of China: Law Websites (updated 2021) - Legal research guide published by the Chinese University of Hong Kong Library. Includes descriptions of Legal Resources, Major Ministries, and Useful Links.
Research Guide: Foreign Law by Jurisdiction - NYU Law Library's guide to Chinese law research
Research Guide to Chinese Copyright Law - 2016 book by Robert Haibin Hu.
Research Guide to Chinese Trademark Law and Practice - 2009 book by Robert Haibin Hu.
Research Guide to Chinese Patent Law and Practice - 2002 book by Robert Haibin Hu.
Research Handbook on Chinese Environmental Law - 2015 book by Tianbao Qin.
Research on Selected China's Legal Issues of e-Business - 2015 book by Yimeei Guo.
Supreme Court Monitor (Updated 2022) - A guide to the Supreme People's Court.
Archived Research Guides
An Overview of English Resources for Chinese Legal Research - An excellent overview of Chinese legal research by John Bahrij and Lily Ko published in 13 Legal Information Management 25 (March 2013).
Beyond the Border: The Construction of the Chinese Legal System in Cyberspace - By Joan Liu, China law research liaison, New York University Law Library. Published on July 4, 2000.
Chinese Law Resources on the Internet (Archived website from 2008) - Wei Luo of the Internet Chinese Legal Research Center maintained a webpage of annotated links to Chinese Law Resources on the Internet, including databases of China law mostly in Chinese with limited availability of English translations. This site is in English, but is more useful for students who read Chinese.
Complete Research Guide to the Laws of the People's Republic of China - (2003) by Chinese law experts Wei Luo and Joan Liu. This extensively documented guide details the major print and online sources on the PRC's legal system, case law, primary and secondary sources, commercial database services, periodicals, directories, government agency websites, and also evaluates the authority of these resources.
Section of International Law: China Committee (Archived 2018) - A limited collection of ABA links to web-based and print research guides on PRC legal & business resources.
Selected Resources on Chinese Business Research (Archived 2013) - Guide to China business law contains links to online research guides, websites and a select bibliography of relevant books.
WashLaw's PRC Law Guide (Archived 2019) - People's Republic of China law resource page with links to the China constitution, China government, China law firms, China law, China law discussion group, China legal research, China judiciary, China study abroad programs, China law schools, China legislature, China law guide, and more.