Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Education & Special Education Law Research Guide: Researching Your Topic

Resources for researching education and special education law.

Finding A Book

Search the Hastings Online Catalog for print titles at the Hastings Law Library. Be sure to use keyword searches for broad topics. Once you have narrowed down to a LC subject heading, use subject searchs to find all materials under your subject.      

Sample Subject Headings:
United States. Individuals with Disabilities Education Act
Children with disabilities -- Education -- Law and legislation -- United States
Special education -- Law and legislation -- United States
People with disabilities -- Education -- Law and legislation -- United States
Educational law and legislation -- United States
 

You can search WorldCat to find out if any books exist on your topic at local and worldwide libraries. If you find a book on your topic that we don't have at Hastings, you can submit a request to borrow the book through interlibrary loan (ILL). Simply click on the "ILL" button in the WorldCat record. It can take up to two weeks to get books through ILL, so plan ahead.

If you find a book that looks interesting, and you are not on campus, click on the call number to browse titles on the shelf nearby. Of course, if you are on campus, browsing the shelves is a great way to find relevant books.

Finding Journal Articles

Finding a journal article discussing the area of law about which you plan to write is a great way to start your research or to solidify an important point in your paper. While Westlaw allows full-text searches of its law review database, it's often helpful to search an index first to tailor your search to articles specifically on your topic. The Index to Legal Periodicals and Books are great for this purpose.

HeinOnline is another excellent resource for finding law review articles.  HeinOnline includes full-text access to more than 1,500 law journals including many that focus on education law.  HeinOnline provides exact page images of the documents in PDF format just as they appear in the original print.

Proquest Central is the largest aggregated full-text database of journal articles, magazines, newspapers and dissertations for information on a broad range of general reference subjects such as business, political science, art, literature and psychology. Among the 24 databases at ProQuest Central is one dedicated to periodicals focused on education.

Agencies and Organizations

Government Agencies

Non-Governmental Organizations

Disability Organizations/Education & Special Education Organizations

Statistics