Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Tax Resouces
Thomson Reuters Checkpoint
Primary Federal and State Tax Law, Secondary Analyses including WG&L Treatises, US Tax Reporter, Federal Tax Coordinator 2d.
Thomson Reuters Checkpoint Student Sign Up
Students can sign up for an individual password to Checkpoint. These passwords are good for the current semester
Bloomberg Law Tax Practice Center
Analysis, news, primary sources, and practice tools covering federal, international, and state tax issues and financial accounting. Tax Management Portfolios, Primary Sources (incl. cases, regs, rulings, treaties, IRS docs and pubs), Forms, Daily and Weekly Tax Reports, Email Notifications.
Bloomberg Law login required.
Federal, state and international tax news and commentary. Searchable full-text documents from courts, Congress, and government agencies and departments. Updated daily. First time users must register. Click on "SIGN IN" and enter your U.C. Hastings email address. On the next screen, click on "New Hastings College of Law User? Register Here" to create an account and password.
Collection of resources prepared for and by practitioners. Materials include treatises, CLE course books and program transcripts, Answer Books and sample forms.
- IRS Web Site
Tax forms, IRS publications, current regulations by topic, Internal Revenue bulletin, written determinations, and IRS GuideWire.
Free internet access to Tax case law, IRS Materials and Tax Legislation<
- TaxProf Blog
"...the only web source of resources, news, and information of interest to law school tax professors in their scholarship and teaching."
This Research Guide is designed to assist students in the Tax Concentration Seminar and Estate Planning Seminar. For any questions regarding your tax research contact: John Miller (x4841).
Academic and Law Review Articles
To locate tax articles in Law Reviews, search for topic in the Index to Legal Periodicals and Books. This index allow you to search for articles by title and subject. Often the index will link to the full text of the articles. To locate a law review article by cite or by title, use HeinOnline.
Use Google Scholar to search for articles in Law Reviews, SSRN, current working papers and other tax scholarship,
Search Full Text Law Reviews on Westlaw or Full Text Law Reviews on Lexis to find articles that cover your topic.
Are there non-legal issues to review for your topic? Proquest Central is a database that covers business, political science, accounting and social science articles.
Tax Practice, Tax Planning Articles and Current Awareness Services
Current Awareness Sources
Tax Current Awareness Sources enable you to update your reserach issue. These resources are updated daily or weekly and cover all aspects of Federal Taxation-- so these are the best places to find new case law, proposed legislation and regulations, new guidance and analysis of current topics:
- Tax Notes
Federal, state and international tax news and commentary. Searchable full-text documents from courts, Congress, and government agencies and departments. Updated daily.
- BNA Daily Tax Report
Current awareness service for Federal, State and International Taxation. Includes news, analysis and links to relevant full-text documents.
- Tax Management Weekly Report
Weekly source for concise reports on legislative, regulatory, judicial, and policy developments from the Treasury Department, Internal Revenue Service, the courts, and Congress. The Report also provides articles on new and emerging areas of taxation.