Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Immigration Law Research Guide: Agency Websites

This resource provides information on locating sources of U.S. immigration law for students enrolled in the Advanced Immigration Law seminar.


Before 9/11, the Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS) was responsible for enforcing immigration law.  After 9/11, the Homeland Security Act of 2002 abolished the INS and created the Department of Homeland Security (DHS). The statute transferred primary responsibility for enforcing and administering immigration laws from the Attorney General to the Secretary of the DHS.  Today, three separate agencies within DHS handle immigration functions.  USCIS administers benefits and services; law enforcement responsibilities are shared by ICE and CBP.  

Federal Agencies with Immigration Responsibilities

Department of Homeland Security:

Department of Justice:

Department of Labor:

Department of Health & Human Services, Administration for Children and Families:

Department of State: