Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

International Law Research Guide: International Privacy, Security & Cyber Law

A research guide to help researchers locate and understand public and private international law resources.

BloombergLaw / BNA

Bloomberg BNA Privacy & Data Security Law Resource Center
The Privacy & Data Security Law Resource Center offers authoritative, in-depth, and practice-oriented news, legal analysis, and practice tools addressing important issues in privacy and information security, in combination with full text of the statutes, regulations, agency documents and case law that privacy lawyers need in daily practice. Practitioner-authored treatises, BNA Insights articles, and checklists and forms offer practical, in-depth analysis. State information includes full text of state privacy and information security statutes, easily accessed with a series of interactive maps.

Westlaw / Practical Law

Cybercrime and Security - provides discussion and primary source materials (international conventions, national legislation, judicial cases, and industry case studies) pertaining to various types of cybercrimes and national security issues.  Coverage includes forensics and electronic evidence, emerging trends in computer crime, international and transnational approaches to cybersecurity, and national legislation from numerous countries.

International Encyclopaedia of Laws: Cyber Law - Analysis by country.

Practical Law: Country Q&A Comparison Tool

Finding Books

To find books at Hastings use the Hastings Catalog.  
  • Do a quick search to find books at Hastings and articles available to Hastings students.
  • Use the advanced search feature for more complex title, author and subject searching.

Hastings Catalog

  • You can find many of the books in the Hastings Library on international privacy and security law by combing search terms such as:
    • technology
    • security
    • cyberlaw
    • cyber law
    • cyberattack
    • cyberspace
    • surveillance
    • internet
    • speech
    • digital
    • law
    • legal
    • legislation

Borrowing Books through Inter-Library Loan

For a wider selection of available books, search to see if other libraries have books you can borrow through Inter-Library Loan (ILL). If the book you want is not in the Hastings Library, or you would like to locate other books on your topic, use WorldCat, a database containing information about books from most of the libraries in the English-speaking world. Once you find a book, select "Request Item Through Interlibrary Loan" to borrow the book.

Google

Finding Articles

Locate the Journals Hastings Subscribes to in Print and Online:

  • Use the Advanced Search feature search to search by keyword, article title, or journal title for online and print articles 
  • Online Access - Search the e-journal finder by journal title.
  • Print Access - Search the library catalog by journal title.

Articles in Lexis, Westlaw, LSN & HeinOnline:

Sometimes law review articles can be one of the best places to find current research on your topic. Good sources for law journal articles include:

Although there is a lot of overlap on Lexis and Westlaw, you will find some articles unique to one database or the other. By searching both Lexis and Westlaw you will cover most of the law review articles written since the mid- 1990s. If you have a citation to an law review article that is not on Westlaw or Lexis (and is older than the last year or two), you will probably be able to print a PDF version of the article from HeinOnline . For working papers, unpublished research, and recently published articles the Legal Scholarship Network is a good resource.

Search Legal Periodical Indexes:

Advantages to Index Searching:

  • May search more (and older) journal articles
  • May eliminate irrelevant articles from full-text search

Disadvantages to Index Searching:

  • After you find the citation, you need to find full-text
  • Your search is limited to title and abstract

San Francisco Public Libray:

If an article you have found is not in one of the online resources at Hastings, you may want to search the online databases collection at the San Francisco Public Library. Any resident of California may apply for a SFPL Library card to get online full-text access.


Interlibrary Loan --- Articles
If you are unable to find the article you need using UC Hastings and SFPL resources, you can search for articles using WorldCat.

  • Search for the article by title, author or keyword
  • Limit search results to "Articles" using the filter boxes on the left
  • Click on the article title
  • Then click the blue "Request Item" button in the middle of the page.

Google Scholar:

You can search a large number of law and social science journals using Google Scholar . Oftentimes, you can get access to the full-text, but not always.